Past Punditry

Politics. Media. History.


Made by History

at the Washington Post


Made by History is a new political history blog at the Washington Post, co-founded by editors-in-chief Nicole Hemmer and Brian Rosenwald. At a time when everything seems uncertain and unprecedented, we need historians to enter the fray and show how understanding the past can help us better navigate the present. Every day, we publish new writing by historians exploring the history behind the headlines, bringing an important new perspective to the news of the day. 

Nicole and Brian are joined by co-editor Kathryn Cramer Brownell, a historian at Purdue University, and a roster of more than 70 of the country's most thoughtful, engaged historians. We also accept outside contributions, so pitch us your ideas for news-relevant, argument-driven pieces (generally in the 600-1000 word range) at Pieces are reviewed by trained historians to make sure we're not just making history, but making good history.


Read our introductory essay here.


Editorial Board

Keisha Blain, University of Iowa

Christy Ford Chapin, University of Maryland-Baltimore County

David Greenberg, Rutgers University

Peniel Joseph, University of Texas-Austin

Mark Atwood Lawrence, University of Texas-Austin

Christopher Nichols, Oregon State University

Leah Wright Rigueur, Harvard Kennedy School of Government

Jason Steinhauer, Villanova University


Carol Anderson, Emory University

Ed Ayers, University of Richmond

Ed Baptist, Cornell University 

Brian Balogh, University of Virginia

Marsha Barrett, University of Iowa

Elizabeth Borgwardt, Washington University-St Louis

Hal Brands, Johns Hopkins University

Vincent J. Cannato, University of Massachusetts-Boston

Brent Cebul, University of North Carolina-Charlotte

Elizabeth Cobbs, Texas A&M University

Jennifer Delton, Skidmore College

Greg Downs, University of California-Davis

Mary Dudziak, Emory University

Nan Enstad, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Crystal Feimster, Yale University

Michael Javen Fortner, CUNY

Joanne Freeman, Yale University

Beverly Gage, Yale University

Lily Geismer, Claremont McKenna College

Judge Glock, West Virginia University

Risa Goluboff, University of Virginia School of Law

Annette Gordon-Reed, Harvard Law School

Andrew Hartman, Illinois State University

Julian Hayter, University of Richmond

Tera Hunter, Princeton University

David Johnson, University of Southern Florida

Jessica Marie Johnson, Johns Hopkins University

Robert KC Johnson, Brooklyn College

Steve Kantrowitz, University of Wisconsin-Madison

Ibram Kendi, American University

Paul Kramer, Vanderbilt University

Kevin Kruse, Princeton University

Lisa Levenstein, University of North Carolina-Greensboro

Fred Logevall, Harvard University

James Mann, Johns Hopkins University

Cecilia Marquez, New York University  

Kate Masur, Northwestern University

Stephanie McCurry, Columbia University

Sarah Milov, University of Virginia

Jennifer Mittelstadt, Rutgers University

Margaret O'Mara, University of Washington

Premilla Nadasen, Barnard College

Natalia Mehlman Petrzela, The New School

Sarah Phillips, Boston University

Kimberly Phillips-Fein, New York University

Claire Potter, The New School

Gautham Rao, American University

Eric Rauchway, University of California-Davis

JT Roane, Smith College

Bruce Schulman, Boston University

Kevin Schultz, University of Illinois-Chicago 

Sarah Seo, University of Iowa

Jeff Shesol, West Wing Writers 

Adriane Lentz-Smith, Duke University  

Jeremi Suri, University of Texas-Austin

Tom Sugrue, New York University

Heather Ann Thompson, University of Michigan 

Lauren Turek, Trinity University (TX)

Mason Williams, Williams College

Nancy Unger, Santa Clara University

Neil Young, George Mason University

Josh Zeitz 

Jon Zimmerman, University of Pennsylvania